The Arthur Bugler Local Governing Body (LGB) consists of parents, staff, and members of the local community who volunteer to provide strategic leadership to our school.

We have three key responsibilities:

  1. To provide strategic direction, working with parents, pupils, and staff, to provide a vision, ethos, and strategic direction for our school
  2. To hold the headteacher to account for the performance of the school, its pupils, and staff
  3. To ensure the finances of the school are well managed

We have high aspirations for our school and are proud of the huge improvements that have been made in the school over the last few years. We aim to be an outstanding school and strive to ensure every child in our care achieves their best, in line with the cooperative values.

All members of the LGB attend full governing body meetings, and will meet typically once each half term, but more often if required. All work of the LGB, whether carried out in committee meetings, by individual governors or working parties, will be reported back to the LGB by way of reports (written or verbal) or minutes which will be submitted as papers for the LGB meeting.

The LGB meetings alternate between Curriculum matters and Resource cover all matters relating to the education of Arthur Bugler pupils, including all aspects of student personal development behavior and welfare and all matters relating to teaching, learning, assessment, and outcomes.

Members of the LGB

Name Category Responsibilities
Mr Ryan Farmer Parent Chair
Leadership and Management
Performance Management (Headteacher)
Quality of Education
GDPR and Data Protection
Mrs Carianne Mailey Community Vice-Chair
Link Governor
Online Safety
Performance Management (Headteacher)
Safeguarding & Child Protection (Governor)
Personal Development, Behaviour, Welfare and Inclusion
Mr Andrew Walker Community Leadership & Management
Performance Management (Headteacher)
Safeguarding & Child Protection (Governor)
Health and Safety
Quality of Education
Pupil Premium Grant (PPG)
Trust Pay Review Committee
Mr Abbey Olusanya Community -
Mr Richard Turner Headteacher Safer Recruitment (Designated person)
Safeguarding & Child Protection (Designated person)
Miss Lisa Glandfield Community Safer Recruitment (Governor)
Mrs Louise Coates Deputy Chief Executive Officer  
Mrs Karen Calder Staff Pupil Premium Grant (PPG)
Mr Steve Welsh Parent SEND (Special Educational Needs and Disabilities)
Covid-19 catch up premium – use and impact


Admissions Committee Members

Name Status Power
Mrs Carianne Mailey Committee Chair Voting
Mr Ryan Farmer Member Voting
Mr Richard Turner Headteacher Voting

Contact us

If you are interested in becoming a governor or have any queries or feedback for the Chair of Governors, please either telephone or email the school office, or send a letter to the following address:

Att: The Chair of Governors,
Arthur Bugler Primary School,
St James' Avenue East,
SS17 7BQ